DIY Mists

Standard

I know recipes for making your own glimmer mists are every where, but I wanted to share a bit about how I made mine.

My "ingredients"

My recipe is X amount of reinker (I used 3 different amounts – 40 drops for Island Indigo, 60 drops for Pool Party and 50 drops for Lucky Limeade) 1.5 oz of water, 1.5 oz of rubbing alcohol, and 1/8 tsp PearlEx (micropearl color.) I forgot I bought a 3oz bottle and not a 2 oz, so I miss labeled the amounts, but have now changed the 1 oz to 1.5 oz on my bottle.
Tip 1: I use a black 1/4 tsp. to scoop out the PearlEx. I fill it about 1/2 full to equal about 1/8 tsp. I enjoy the black teaspoon because it is great to see the white PearlEx against it.
Tip 2: I shake the bottle side to side, not up and down, to avoid any of the PearlEx clogging the spray tube. (I have never encountered this, but have read     about this tip many places, so I figured it would not hurt.)
Tip 3: I have a cardboard box I use as a spray background. (WAY too easy to make a mess otherwise.)
Tip 4: I spray a 1.5″ x 3″ piece of paper with the color of the spray. Let it dry.
Tip 5: I write my recipe of the paper with the corresponding marker color if I have it. This allows me to see what the marker and/or ink the original color is… If I do not have a marker, I will stamp a small image to see the original color.
Tip 6: Packing tape is the perfect size to adhere the paper.

Happy misting everyone!
Liz

One response »

Leave a comment